Kent Weakley, Getty Images
Despite public pressure from Realtors, Gov. Steve Sisolak signed legislation Wednesday to lengthen the time frame of evictions and provide tenant protections.
Last minute amendments were added to Senate Bill 151 on the final day of session that capped rent late fees at 5 percent and allowed those who have been evicted to return to the property to retrieve essential items like medication and documents.
“This (legislation) attempts to swing the pendulum back a little closer to the middle,” Democratic state Sen. Julia Ratti previously told Nevada Current. “It’s not over the top. It doesn’t do anything outlandish. It means tenants have some protections while they maintain the one thing that is critical for every human — shelter.”
Following the legislature approving the added provisions, Realtors pushed to have the bill killed. Groups created stopsb151.com and put out digital advertisements calling Democratic lawmakers “shady.”
The legislation was part of a series of approaches to counter the effects of Nevada’s housing crisis.
Because there is a lack of low-income and affordable housing, housing rights advocates said landlords can take advantage of tenants. During the session, they fought for legislation offering more protections.
After Senate Bill 256 died, which would have prevented a landlord from applying rent payments to outstanding fees and would have required landlords to return security deposits in less than three weeks as opposed to 30 days under the current law, SB 151 was amended to include mild tenant protections.
Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.