Frierson names Assembly leaders

By: - November 14, 2018 3:17 pm
full on legi building

full on legi building

Assembly Speaker Jason Frierson, who was elected to retain his position as speaker by the Democratic caucus last week, Wednesday announced Democratic Assembly leadership positions for the 2019 legislative session. 

Steve Yeager of Las Vegas will be Frierson’s speaker pro tempore.

Assemblywoman Teresa Benitez-Thompson of Las Vegas was named the elected majority leader.

Additional appointments include: Daniele Monroe-Moreno of North Las Vegas as assistant majority leader; Mike Sprinkle of Reno as majority whip; Tyrone Thompson of North Las Vegas as chief deputy majority leader; and Heidi Swank of Las Vegas and William McCurdy II of North Las Vegas as co-assistant majority whips.

McCurdy is also chairman of the Nevada Democratic Party.

“The Nevada State Assembly’s leadership team is comprised of experienced, accomplished, and well-rounded legislators that will build on the successes from the last legislative session,” Frierson said. “I look forward to passing a legislative agenda that focuses on improving the day-to-day lives of Nevadans throughout our state.”

Committee chairs have not been selected yet.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Jeniffer Solis
Jeniffer Solis

Reporter | Jeniffer was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada where she attended the University of Nevada, Las Vegas before graduating in 2017 with a B.A in Journalism and Media Studies. While at UNLV she was a senior staff writer for the student newspaper, the UNLV Scarlet and Gray Free Press, and a news reporter for KUNV 91.5 FM, covering everything from the Route 91 shooting to UNLV housing. She has also contributed to the UNLV News Center and worked as a production engineer for several KUNV broadcasts before joining the Nevada Current. She’s an Aries.