Nevada Democratic lawmakers and Gov. Steve Sisolak acknowledge that the state’s minimum wage needs to go up. But by how much, and when, has yet to be ironed out, at least publicly.
In the meantime, for perspective, or context, or just for the nonce, here are the minimum wage laws in states adjacent to Nevada, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures:
- Arizona’s minimum wage is $11 an hour. On Jan. 1, 2020, it goes up to $12, and then rises annually based on cost of living increases.
- California’s is already $12. It is scheduled to rise a dollar a year until it reaches $15 in 2022, followed by annual increases based on the consumer price index (CPI).
- Oregon’s wage is $10.75. It is scheduled to rise by 75 cents a year until reaching $13.50 in 2022, and then rise based on the CPI thereafter.
- The minimum wage is $7.25 in both Utah and Idaho.
The only official minimum wage proposal on the table in Nevada right now is a joint resolution passed by legislators in 2017 to raise the wage in the state constitution. Legislators could opt to not raise the minimum wage this year, and instead pass the constitutional amendment resolution again, which would send it to voters in 2020. If voters approved it, Nevada’s minimum wage would rise from its current $7.25 an hour to $9.40, but not until Jan. 1, 2021. The wage would then rise by $1.15 each year, until reaching $14 in 2025.
Meanwhile, Nevada Democratic Sen. Jacky Rosen and Democratic Reps. Dina Titus, Steven Horsford and Susie Lee all support legislation to raise the minimum wage nationally from its current $7.25 to $15 by 2024.