Senate Democrats announce committee chairs

state senate sign

state senate signNevada state Senate Democrats Friday announced committee chairs for the 2019 legislative session that starts in February. Here they are (2017 chairs are in parentheses):

Commerce and Labor: Pat Spearman (Kelvin Atkinson)

Education: Mo Denis (same)

Finance: Joyce Woodhouse (same)

Government Affairs: David Parks (same)

Health and Human Services: Julia Ratti (Spearman)

Judiciary: Nicole Cannizzaro (Tick Segerblom)

Legislative Operations and Elections: James Ohrenschall (Cannizzaro)

Natural Resources: Melanie Scheible (Yvanna Cancela)

Revenue and Economic Development: Marilyn Dondero Loop (Ratti)

Growth and Infrastructure: Cancela (Patricia Farley)

Hugh Jackson
Editor | Hugh Jackson has been writing about Nevada policy and politics for more than 20 years. He was editor of the Las Vegas Business Press, senior editor at the Las Vegas CityLife weekly newspaper, daily political commentator on the Las Vegas NBC affiliate, and wrote the then-groundbreaking Las Vegas Gleaner, which among other things was the only independent political blog from Nevada that was credentialed at the 2008 Democratic National Convention. He spent a few years as a senior energy and environmental policy analyst for Public Citizen, and has occasionally worked as a consultant on mining, taxation, education and other issues for Nevada labor and public interest organizations. His freelance work has been published in outlets ranging from the Guardian to Desert Companion to In These Times to the Oil & Gas Journal. For several years he also taught U.S. History courses at UNLV. Prior to moving to Las Vegas, he was a reporter and then assistant managing editor at the Casper Star-Tribune, Wyoming’s largest newspaper.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here