Sisolak appoints Titus staffer to Clark County Commission

Naft and Titus
Newly appointed Clark County Commissioner Michael Taft and Rep. Dina Titus take a selfie in front of a photo of Gov. Steve Sisolak. (Photo from Naft's Twitter.)

Gov. Steve Sisolak on Tuesday appointed Michael Naft as his successor on the Clark County Commission. Naft is currently the district director for Rep. Dina Titus.

Naft and Titus
Newly appointed Clark County Commissioner Michael Taft and Rep. Dina Titus take a selfie in front of a photo of Gov. Steve Sisolak. (Photo from Naft’s Twitter.)

Naft will represent District A for the remainder of the current term. Sisolak represented the district from 2009 until last month; he served as chairman from 2013 through 2018. The District A seat is up for reelection in 2020. District A includes the Las Vegas Strip and unincorporated parts of the county.

In a statement announcing the appointment, Sisolak acknowledged Titus, saying, “Her office’s loss is Clark County’s gain and I know I am leaving my old seat in the most capable hands.”

In her own statement, Titus stated: “Naft has been a trusted advisor and skilled leader in my Las Vegas office for many years. While we will miss him dearly, I cannot think of a better person to serve the people of District A and the state of Nevada.”

In a statement issued by Clark County, Naft thanked both Sisolak and Titus: “I look forward to continuing the results-driven leadership that (Sisolak) provided during his remarkable 10 years as County Commissioner. I am extremely grateful to Congresswoman Dina Titus for the many opportunities she has given me to work for the residents of Nevada’s First Congressional District. She has instilled in me a passion for civic duty. I look forward to delivering the same high level of constituent service that I have offered throughout my career, alongside my new colleagues on the Clark County Commission.”

Naft will be sworn in Wednesday before the start of the Clark County Commission zoning meeting.

His appointment makes Commissioner Marilyn Kirkpatrick the lone woman on the seven-member board. Kirkpatrick on Monday was unanimously voted the new commission chair.

At the beginning of 2017, the Clark County Commission was majority female with Kirkpatrick, Chris Giunchigliani, Susan Brager and Mary Beth Scow serving as commissioners. Scow unexpectedly resigned and was replaced by former Henderson Mayor Jim Gibson. Giunchigliani and Brager were both term limited and their elected successors were men — Tick Segerblom and Justin Jones, respectively.

April Corbin
Reporter | April Corbin is an award-winning journalist with a decade of media experience. Most recently she covered local government for Las Vegas Sun. She has also been a staff writer at LEO Weekly, web editor of Las Vegas Weekly and a blogger documenting bike share systems’ efforts to increase ridership in underserved communities. An occasional adjunct journalism professor, April steadfastly rejects the notion that journalism is a worthless major. Amid the Great Recession, she earned a B.A. in journalism from the University of Nevada Las Vegas, where she served as editor-in-chief of its student newspaper. She later earned an M.A. in media studies and a graduate certificate in media management from The New School for Public Engagement. April serves as treasurer of the Society of Professional Journalists Las Vegas pro chapter and is an at-large member of the Asian American Journalists Association. A stickler about municipal boundary lines, April enjoys teaching people about unincorporated Clark County. She grew up in Sunrise Manor and currently resides in Paradise. She lives with her boyfriend, his toddler, three mutts and five chickens. In her free time, she enjoys rock climbing, exploring Nevada and defending selfies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here